A Little Bird Gets a New Look (Visual Article Series)

I originally created and published A Little Bird Told Me: Maximizing Your Learning on Twitter in 2015.  The one page list of strategies was my first ever pinned tweet.  It has been one of my more successful online endeavors, capturing thousands of views and hundreds (maybe close to a thousand if you count across platforms) of downloads.  Instructors have incorporated it in their syllabi and I get notifications all the time – one as recently as two days ago – that new seminars and professional groups have passed it around for participant consideration.

A Little Bird has personal significance.  It was the first document I created specifically for my own professional need; no one else asked me to make it, nor did I show it to anyone before I published it. I made it for myself, because I was tired of seeing faculty struggle with convincing their students to think about Twitter as a tool for learning.  Conceiving, designing, and publishing A Little Bird was the first concrete evidence that I had developed a pedagogical practice and voice. It was my first step in identifying myself as an educator and not just an ex-physician taking classes in education.  Like I said, A Little Bird is a personal milepost.

I’ll be honest – although it is only two years old, looking at A Little Bird makes me wince a tiny bit.  Content-wise, it is sound.  It was never meant to be comprehensive, but what is there is good and reflects the fact that I was more skilled at pedagogical Twitter a year ago than I am now probably.  However, the visual presentation – a one paged, tiny font list of bulleted paragraphs – is not how I would present information on the web today.  I have been impacted by my subsequent work with Tod Massa, who strongly encouraged me to integrate color, graphics, and design into everything that I do. I no longer put out handouts that look like bulleted lists only.

So.  Given the fact that A Little Bird still gets pulled for new classes, seminars, professional development, etc., I wanted to give faculty and participants an option.  The original document remains where it has always been.  However, yesterday I reformatted the content (and tightened up the copy, but only just a bit) to be an infographic.  Yes, I used one of my published color palettes (and yes it saved time). And you can download the infographic as a pdf if you really want to.

a-little-bird-told-me

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ken Bauer says:

    Even better than before Laura. Wonderful. Thank you for all of the sharing that you do, you know that I’ve been sharing this with students and faculty for awhile now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura Gogia says:

    I know, Ken. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. gardnercampbell says:

    Outstanding!

    Like

Leave a Reply

